Home » National » President Presents National Sports and Adventure Awards 
The President, Shri Ram Nath Kovind presenting the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2016-17 to the Punjabi University, Patiala, in a glittering ceremony, at Rashtrapati Bhavan, in New Delhi on August 29, 2017.

President Presents National Sports and Adventure Awards 


       Newdelhi:29/8/17:     The President of India, Shri Ram Nath Kovind presented the National Sports & Adventure Awards at a function held at Rashtrapati Bhavan today (August 29, 2017). 14 young sports achievers also attended the ceremony. Four of them are gold medalists from the Asian School Championships for Athletics 2015, 1 gold medalist from the Asian School Championship for Swimming 2016 and 9 gold medalists from the Gymnasiade conducted by the International School Sport Federation in 2016.

National Sports & Adventure Awards 2017

President of India Shri Ram Nath Kovind here today conferred National Sports & Adventure Awards 2017 in a ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhawan. Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Youth Affairs and Sports Shri Vijay Goel among the dignitaries who were present on the occasion.





(i)         Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2017


Following sportspersons were conferred with Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2017.


S. N. Name of Awardee Discipline
1. Shri Sardar Singh Hockey
2. Shri Devendra Para-Athletics











(ii) Dronacharya Awards 2017


Following coaches were conferred with Dronacharya Awards for the year 2017.


S. N. Name of Awardees Discipline
Dr. R. Gandhi (Posthumously) Athletics
Shri G.S.S.V. Prasad Badminton- Lifetime
Shri Braja Bhusan Mohanty Boxing-Lifetime
Shri P.A. Raphael Hockey-Lifetime
Shri Sanjoy Chakraverthy Shooting-Lifetime
Shri Roshan Lal Wrestling-Lifetime



The Award for Late Dr. R. Gandhi was received by his wife Dr. Sailaxmi Gandhi.




(iii)        Arjuna Awards 2017


Following sportspersons were conferred with Arjuna Awards for the year 2017:


S. N. Name of Awardees Discipline
1. Ms. Vennam Jyothi Surekha Archery
2. Ms. Khushbir Kaur Athletics
3. Shri Arokia Rajiv Athletics
4. Ms. Prashanti Singh Basketball
5. Sub. L. Debendro Singh Boxing
6. Shri Cheteshwar Pujara Cricket
7. Ms. Harmanpreet Kaur Cricket
8. Ms. Oinam Bembem Devi Football
9. Shri Shivsankar Prasad Chawrasia Golf
10. Shri S.V. Sunil Hockey
11. Shri Jasvir Singh Kabaddi
12. Shri P.N. Prakash Shooting
13. Shri A. Amalraj Table Tennis
14. Shri Saketh Sai Myneni Tennis
15. Shri Satyawart Kadian Wrestling
16. Shri Mariyappan T. Para-Athletics
17. Shri Varun Singh Bhati Para-Athletics



Shri Cheteshwar Pujara selected for Arjuna Award in the discipline of Cricket is presently playing abroad and as such could not attend the Award Ceremony. He will be given award at some later date by the Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Youth Affairs & Sports.



(iv)       Dhyan Chand Award 2017


Following persons were conferred with Dhyan Chand Awards for the year 2017:


S. N. Name of Awardees Discipline
1. Shri Bhupender Singh Athletics
2. Shri Syed Shahid Hakim Football
3. Ms. Sumrai Tete Hockey




(v) Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award 2017


Following persons were conferred with Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards for the year 2017.


    S. N. Name of Awardees Discipline
1. Smt. Premlata Agrawal Land Adventure


2. Shri More Rohan Dattatrey Water Adventure


3. Shri Ashok Abbey Life Time Achievement


4. Shri Ved Prakash Sharma Life Time Achievement





(vi) Maulana Abul  Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2016-17


Punjabi University, Patiala was conferred with Maulana  Abul  Kalam  Azad Trophy for the year 2016-17.


S. N. Name of Awardee  
1. Punjabi University, Patiala Winner




(vii) Rashtriya  Khel   Protsahana  Purushkar, 2017


Following entities were conferred with Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskarar for the year 2017.


S. N. Name of Awardees Category


1. Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan (KVS)


2. Encourage to sports through corporate social responsibility Odisha Industrial Infrastructure Development Corporation (IDCO)


3. Sports for Development The Golf Foundation


4. Sports for Development Reliance Foundation




About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

Cash hoard surpasses Rs 300 crore in IT raids from Odisha-based distillery company

Bhubaneswar:10/12/23: The Income-Tax(IT) department’s ongoing searches against an Odisha-based distillery company, Boudh Distillery Private Limited, have resulted in a cash seizure exceeding Rs 300 crore, according to official sources. The ...