Home » State News » MP Bhartruhari Mahtab will be honoured with the `Sansad Ratna Awards

MP Bhartruhari Mahtab will be honoured with the `Sansad Ratna Awards

Chennai:26/5/17; Nine outstanding Members of Parliament – six from the Lower House – will be honoured with `Sansad Ratna Awards 2017’ here on Saturday, “The awards will be presented to the parliamentarians by Kerala Governor P.Sathasivam,” Prime Point Foundation chairman K.Srinivasan told mediapersons here today.

The winners are Shrirang Appa Barne (Shiv Sena from Mavel, Maharashtra), Rajeev Shankarrao Satav ( Congress, Hingoli, Maharashtra) and Dhananjay Bhimrao Mahadik (NCP, Kolhapur, Maharashtra) have been nominated for awards under different categories.

Bhartruhari Mahtab (Biju Janata Dal, Cuttack, Odisha) and N K Premachandran (RSP, Kollam, Kerala) have been nominated for their excellence in quality of debates and other parliamentary proceedings.

Dr Heena Vijayakumar Gavit (BJP, Nandurbar, Maharashtra) has gets the award under the Women MP category.

Those from the Rajya Sabha are: Sanjay Raut (Shiva Sena, Maharashtra), K N Balagopal (CPM, Kerala) and Dr T N Seema (CPM, Kerala).

Instituted by Prime Point Foundation and eMagazine PreSense, the awards are based on the suggestion given by late President A.P.J. Abdul Kalam. This is the eighth edition and the award are on behalf of the civil society to honour achievers in Parliament, Srinivasan said.

The performance is measured based on the number of debates they participate, the number of questions raised, the number of private member bills introduced, attendance and usage of funds under the Members of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme.

Since last year, outstanding Rajya Sabha members who had retired the previous year, after completing the full six-year term had also been given the awards.

The jury is headed by Anandrao Adsul (fifth time MP), and has Hansraj G Ahir (Minister of State – Home and fourth time MP) and Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal (Minister of State – Finance and Corporate Affairs and second time MP

About Editor in chief

Ashok Palit has completed his graduation from Upendranath College Soro, Balasore and post graduation from Utkal University in Odia Language and literture.. He has also carved out a niche for himself as a scribe of eminence after joining the profession in 1988. He is also an independent media production professional. He brings loads of experience to Advanced Media, Ashok Palit as a cineaste has been active in film criticism for over three decades. As a film society activist, he soared to eminence for his profound commitment to the art film appreciation and aesthetics of cinema. His mode of discourse is often erudite but always lucid and comprehensible marked by a perfect acumen so rare in the field. A film aesthete with an immense fond of critical sensibilities, he wrote about growth and development of odia cinema in New Indian Express, The Times of India, The Hindustan Times, The Asian Age and Screen. He has been working as an Editor for Cine Samaya from 2002-2004.. He had made solid contribution on cinema in many odia Dailies and weekly such as Samaj, Prajatantra, Dharatri, Samaya, Satabadi, and weekly Samaya.

Check Also

EPFO extends three months’ time for Employers to upload wage details etc. regarding Pension on Higher Wages

Newdelhi:29/9/23:Earlier an online facility was made available by EPFO for submitting Applications for Validation of Options/Joint Options for pension on higher wages. The facility was for eligible pensioners/members in compliance ...